Hover over the information icon for a summary of the book.
All Boys Aren't Blue by
In a series of personal essays, prominent journalist and LGBTQIA+ activist George M. Johnson explores his childhood, adolescence, and college years in New Jersey and Virginia. From the memories of getting his teeth kicked out by bullies at age five, to flea marketing with his loving grandmother, to his first sexual relationships, this young-adult memoir weaves together the trials and triumphs faced by Black queer boys.
Before I Had the Words by
YouTuber Skylar Kergil details his early childhood memories to the changes and confusion brought on by adolescence, an d how he posted his female-to-male transition videos online as a mean of opening up about the long path to self-acceptance.
Being Jazz by
An autobiography of Jazz Jennings in which she shares her experiences of transitioning for male to female and becoming an advocate for transgender youth.
Beyond the Gender Binary by
Poet, artist, and LGBTQIA+ rights advocate Alok Vaid-Menon deconstructs, demystifies, and reimagines the gender binary.
Brave Face by
Shaun David Hutchinson was nineteen. Confused. Struggling to find the vocabulary to understand and accept who he was and how he fit into a community in which he couldn't see himself. The voice of depression told him that he would never be loved or wanted, while powerful and hurtful messages from society told him that being gay meant love and happiness weren't for him. A million moments large and small over the years all came together to convince Shaun that he couldn't keep going, that he had no future. And so he followed through on trying to make that a reality. Thankfully Shaun survived, and over time, came to embrace how grateful he is and how to find self-acceptance. In this courageous and deeply honest memoir, Shaun takes readers through the journey of what brought him to the edge, and what has helped him truly believe that it does get better.
Darling Days by
The author describes a search for an authentic sense of self and gender identity in a coming of age memoir set in the 1980s and 1990s urban bohemia of New York's Lower East Side as family life devolves into chaos.
Firebird by
Mark Doty discusses what it was like to grow up as a homosexual, how his parents and siblings reacted to the news, and how he came to terms with his sexuality.
Honor Girl by
A 15-year-old girl endures wrenching public and private challenges when she unexpectedly falls in love with a female counselor at her Appalachian summer camp.
Lana Wachowski by
Explores the life and career of director Lana Wachowski who was born male, but identified as female, and transitioned into her true identity as an adult.
Laverne Cox by
A biography of actress Laverne Cox focusing on her struggle to come to terms with her gender identity, her work as an activist, and her success as the first openly transgender actor nominated for an Emmy award.
The Mayor of Castro Street by
Biography of Harvey Milk, the nation's first openly gay city official who was assassinated in San Francisco in 1978, discussing how events in his personal life and public career mirrored the emergence of the gay community in America during the 1970s.
Redefining Realness by
The author describes growing up as a young, multicultural, poor, transgender person in America. Discusses her challenges transitioning from a male to a female through adolescence and young adulthood; her work in the sex trade to finance her transformation; her efforts to obtain an education and career; and her life now.
Some Assembly Required by
Seventeen-year-old Arin Andrews shares all the hilarious, painful, and poignant details of undergoing gender reassignment as a high school student in this teen memoir.
Becoming Visible by
History of homosexuality in the United States from the secretive gay culture at the beginning of the 20th century to the renewed gay rights activism in the 1990s, illustrated with photographs, documents, and artifacts from the exhibit at the New York Public Library.
Branded by the Pink Triangle by
A history of the persecution of gay men by the Nazi regime during the Holocaust. When the Nazis came to power in Europe, the lives of homosexuals came to be ruled by fear as raids, arrests, prison sentences and expulsions became the daily reality. When the concentration camps were built, homosexuals were imprisoned along with Jews. The pink triangle, sewn onto prison uniforms, became the symbol of their persecution. This book combines historical research with first-person accounts and individual stories to bring this time to life for readers.
Finding Community by
Explores the history of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and trangender community in the United States.
From the Closet to the Courtroom by
Examines five key cases that have changed gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender rights and the nation, covering family, harassment, discrimination, marriage, and sex.
Gay America by
An examination of gay and lesbian life in the United States since the colonial period that discusses the Kinsey study, the McCarthy witch hunts of the 1950s, the Beat generation, gay marriage, and other related topics.
Gay and Lesbian Rights in the United States by
Presents primary documents, including laws, court cases, personal testimonies, and others, that provide insights into the history of conflict over the issue of gay and lesbian rights in the United States, from colonial times to 2000.
Great Events from History - LGBTQ Events, Volume 1 by
Volume one of a two-volume set that chronicles significant events in world history that have contributed to the identification, definition, and legal establishment of the rights of gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender persons, covering events between 1848 and 1983.
Great Events from History - LGBTQ Events, Volume 2 by
Volume two of a two-volume set that chronicles significant events in world history that have contributed to the identification, definition, and legal establishment of the rights of gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender persons, covering events between 1984 and 2017. Includes category and subject indexes.
LGBTQ+ Athletes Claim the Field: Striving for Equality by
In 2015, the world watched as soccer star Abby Wambach kissed her wife after the US women's World Cup victory. Milwaukee Brewers' minor league first baseman David Denson came out as gay. And Caitlyn (born Bruce) Jenner, an Olympic decathlete, came out as transgender.
It hasn't always been this way. Many great athletes have stayed in the closet their whole lives, or at least until retirement. Social attitudes, institutional policies, and laws are slow to change, but they are catching up. Together, athletes, families, educators, allies, and fans are pushing for competitive equity so that every athlete, regardless of identity, can have the opportunity to play at their very best.
Out for Good by
Traces the emergence of gay rights movements in cities across America and explains how those movements changed the face of American society and politics.
Pride Day by
Looks at Gay Pride Day and what led to its creation.
Queer, There, and Everywhere by
Looks at twenty-three individuals who were either lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender who fought, created and loved on their own terms.
A Queer History of the United States for Young People by
Examines the history of homosexuality in America ranging from indigenous tribes who embraced diverse sexual orientation and gender identities to historical figures such as transgender war hero Albert D.J. Cashier and civil rights leader Bayard Rustin who have made lasting contributions in the history and culture of the LGBTQ community. Includes a glossary and photographs.
Stonewall: Breaking Out in the Fight for Gay Rights by
An exploration of the Stonewall Riots and the national gay rights movement that followed.
Transgender Rights by
A collection of articles selected from the New York Times that looks at the rights of transgender people, discussing Texas and North Carolina "bathroom bills," the debate over the inclusion of trans people in the military, and tales of various struggles and successes in the courts.
For additional nonfiction suggestions, check out these lists:
Being Transgender by
Offers an in-depth look at what it means to be transgender; and discusses gender, gender stereotypes, and the differences between being a tomboy or an effeminate man and being transgender.
Beyond Magenta by
Six teens tell what it is like for them to be members of the transgender community.
Coming Out and Seeking Support by
Addresses issues of publicly identifying oneself as lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender and discusses resources for support.
Confronting Stereotypes by
Explores common LGBT stereotypes that persist both outside and inside the community.
The Gay and Lesbian Guide to College Life by
Offers gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and questioning students advice on how they can adapt to college life, with tips on finding a homosexual-friendly school, evaluating campus policies, dealing with homophobia on campus, finding support on campus, and more.
It Gets Better by
A collection of testimonials written to teenagers from celebrities, political leaders, and other individuals on the happiness they found in life after they suffered through bullying and torment in their youths because of their sexual orientation.
LGBTQ: The Survival Guide for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Questioning Teens by
Includes current information on LGBTQ terminology, evolving understandings of gender identity and sexual identity, LGBTQ rights, and more. Other advice covers topics such as coming out, confronting prejudice, getting support, making healthy choices, and thriving in school and beyond.
Queer by
Addresses some of the challenges faced by gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender teens, offering advice on how to come out to family and friends, develop a social life, deal with homophobia, and other topics, and includes personal testimonies.
Sex and Sexuality by
Presents a collection of essays selected from the New York Times that looks at gay and lesbian rights, transgender stories, queer identity, feminism, and sexual consent.
Understanding Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity by
Discusses the science of sexual identity and the nature versus nurture debate.