Skip to Main Content

EPSY 1100 Issues Research: Home

Reference Databases

Whenever you are doing research it is good to get an overview of your topic. Use the Encyclopedia databases below to better understand your topic. Pull information and keywords from the articles found in these articles to guide your searches in other sources. NOTE: These are starting points only!

Searching and Topic Finding

This is a great multi-purpose database to search for magazine and newspaper articles as well as some journal content. 

 

ID (For use at home): Warriors

 

For additional sources, try the State Databases:

For use at home you must use ANY valid Public Library Card

Determining Quality Resources

Evaluating resources for quality is essential when doing any research. In order to be sure we are using information that is accurate, timely, and meets our research purpose, we must evaluate the sources we intend to use. It also helps to have another person look at your sources! Use the tools below to practice this important skill!

*PLEASE MAKE COPIES OF THE DOCUMENTS ABOVE TO USE

APA Citation Guidelines

Be aware that you will be required to cite your sources both in text and in the last section of your response. Use APA style.

In text, use a style like this (Raphael, 2024). If you use a direct quote, it should look like this: According to Kowitt (2015), "EPSY 1100 is the greatest course in the history of all courses" (p. 23).

Your citation  in  the last  section  should follow APA  guidelines, and look like this: Kowitt  , J.  (  2015  ). Ten reasons why EPSY 1100 is tremendous.  The Journal  of  EPSY 1100,  2(1), 23-26.

Note that the journal title or book name is in italics. The numbers after are: the journal number, (the volume), and the page numbers. For more guidance on APA style, see: https://apastyle.apa.org/style-grammar-guidelines 

Citation

Noodletools is our citation generator. Used correctly, it will format your citations for you and ensure you get full credit for providing your sources. 

Accessing Noodletools

 

 

 

...Then follow Noodletools Tutorial

UConn Databases

Find very useful journal and magazine articles using your UConn access. The following three databases each provide many resources tailored to your needs.
Includes articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines covering a wide variety of disciplines with the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Scholarly articles in psychology, plus medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, criminology, social science, business, & organizational behavior.
Full-text articles about education, covering children's health and development, pedagogical theory, and current topics in education.